Determined to be a runner

And I am as far away from this statement as I could be right now.

Sometimes I feel like I’m in pretty good shape- I mean I love hiking, biking, walking and now that I have access to a gym-lifting weights! You’ve read about a couple of my at-home workout regimens….or my hiking experiences….or my attempts at running, but truth be told, I’m not a runner and never have been. I mean I remember going for runs in high school and college occasionally. It was only about 2-3 miles at a time, nothing crazy…but it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. And currently I can’t even run a mile! I see so many friends and family completing 5k’s, 10k’s, 1/2 marathons and full marathons. I mean if my brother can do a marathon surely I can train to run more than 2-3 miles. But I’m being very realistic and starting slow-I am determined, and I don’t want to get burnt out before I even get going.

There is a feeling that I get when I run! I can clear  my mind. I can think freely. It’s a moment of time to myself. I say moment right now, because I still don’t run very far….but I will!

SO I downloaded an app to help me along this journey. I’m that person that can be so excited for something that I put too much into it at the beginning and get burnt out really quickly. So this app is great, it helps me be realistic, while pacing myself to stay on track! It is the red rocks app and I am using the run a 5k version. (You gotta start somewhere right?) I really like it, I only had one glitch so far-that to be honest got me very frustrated and I was ready to throw my phone in every different direction. It’s a great way to get in the zone. I am currently doing 30 minute sessions and there is a voice that says when to jog and when to walk while your playlist is going in the background! Talk about some good motivation to keep going and to be in the zone and not be distracted by looking  at a watch, playing with music, etc. I just go…..and that’s what is most important right now!

2013-07-28 14.41.28

Well it’s been a week, and I’m proud to say I haven’t missed a day or slowed on any walk/run yet!! 🙂 And the running segments are getting easier! Whoop-whoop! I’ve been able to enjoy different routes, different terrain and so much beauty on runs! I have typically been going either at sunrise or sunset (when it tends to be a little cooler!)

2013-07-28 19.24.18

I love all the sunflowers that are in full bloom around our neighborhood!

2013-07-28 19.24.34

 

 

I know they’re weeds, but at least they are pretty and not in my yard! 😉

Telli the terror

Yes, that’s right she hasn’t been so sweet this week. I tried taking her on my first run which was a disaster. She chases all the bunnies and pulls so much, she is an impossible running partner. And for me who needs to focus on each aspect of this running plan, I haven’t taken her with me anymore because of her distraction. It just means I get more exercise by taking her for other walks!

 

2013-07-31 06.56.15

She has also been on a chewing frenzy! A cable to the tv, an ottoman, our “shoe basket” and my flip-flop! My new flip-flop! My cute flip-flop! I have only had these for two weeks and they are destroyed!!! 😦 so sad….tear…..

2013-08-01 10.54.34

 

Well I hope you all had a fabulous week! I am very thankful it is Friday because I have a three day weekend ahead of me with no firm plans! I know I want to go to the farmers market and am planned to deliver dinner to a friend who just had a baby….but other than than, the weekend is mine!!!!!! Can’t wait to recap you all on it!

Have you ever started a running program? Any advice on what I should do? I’m also in need of amping up my playlist so if you have any recommendations, I’d really appreciate it! 🙂

❤ God Bless

 

One response

  1. Pingback: That was a beast of a run | sunshine and shoes

Leave a Reply

