Seafood Baked Pasta

Happy Saturday evening to you!

I got home from work this evening and although Nate was starving I was determined to get a quick workout in…..since I slept in this morning and really didn’t want to get out of bed. 😦

My legs have been killing me these last couple of days, so I figured it was time to do an arm circuit workout! For some reason I’ve always enjoyed working my arms….maybe because I hate flabby arms (and I’m starting to get them…), maybe it’s because I love the burning feeling I get in my arms when I work out and pushing through every single rep, maybe it’s because I’m used to my legs being sore, so it’s nice to have my upper body sore too…not sure, but regardless, I love working out my arms. Except pull-ups.

Here was my circuit workout:

guDReBA7eB2lUbjRQ8bL6tU7M9tWko0-MV7qPz_BL9I

I loved incorporating a 2 minute run into it again….it kicks up the heart rate and keeps it going!

Dinner

This morning I was watching an episode of The Pioneer Women. Ree always makes delicious meals, but the one she had this morning had both Nate and I drooling and deciding immediatley exactly what we were going to plan for dinner. While I was at work, Nate went to the store to pick up the shrimp and scallops (the only ingredients we didn’t have hanging around our house)

After my workout we worked in the kitchen together to cook our meal! I love when we cook together, we have too much fun in the kitchen! So here is the recipe and if you want to see Ree’s recipe and her gorgeous pictures, click here. Or you can deal with my “oh I really don’t know anything about photography pictures!” Either way, ENJOY!

Seafood Baked Pasta

DSC00186

Ingredients:

– 1/2 cup of olive oil (I know it sounds like a lot, but you’ll need it all to coat the pasta)

– 3 cloves of garlic chopped

– 3 – 14.5oz of diced tomatoes

– 1/2 cup white wine (I love when recipes have wine in them….not only to enhance the taste, but also to drink! 😉 )

– 2 lbs shrimp (we thawed 1 lb of shrimp the frozen ones so they were already deveined and tail free and 1 lb of scallops)

– salt and pepper

– fresh parsley, minced

– 1 lb of pasta-we used a cool looking squiggly one we had in the cabinets

– red pepper flakes to taste

Preparation:

Cook pasta pre-al dente. You want the pasta to still be firm because you will continue to bake it in the oven.

In a large skillet or pot heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and sauté for a minute. Dump in the can of tomatoes (with juice) and wine. Stir the mixture together, season with salt and pepper, and let it cook for ten minutes.

DSC00187

Meanwhile, prepare a large dish with aluminum foil lining it and enough extra to be able to wrap around the full pasta dish.

In a separate skillet, put in a tablespoon of butter (we used coconut oil instead). Once it is melted, seer (cook briefly on the outside) the shrimp and scallops.

DSC00188

Add the shrimp and scallops to the skillet with the sauce.

The noodles should only need to boil for about 3-4 minutes. Combine all the ingredients in with the sauce. Dump the entire mixture into the pre-made aluminum bowl. I used a 9×13 pan and just wrapped it in aluminum foil. Tightly wrap the foil into a parcel.

DSC00189

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and keep warm

I made a side salad for us to enjoy while the pasta baked…

DSC00190

And TADA!!!! Our delicious Seafood Baked Pasta!!!! (My photography just doesn’t do it justice!)

DSC00191

It tasted just as good as it looks and it will definitely be a keeper recipe! It was so easy to make, and we were able to put 4 extra servings into tupperware containers to have for leftovers. I love making meals that give us leftovers!

After we let our food settle, we ended our wonderful evening by taking a walk around the neighborhood!

PKxyWdaWnTDN3Kz8mW1S9gvgpUcXlwempH1CH_yWKYw

I hope you all have a great Saturday night! Nate and I are off to bed early because we have a fun adventure planned bright and early tomorrow morning that I can’t wait to share with you!

Are you somebody that likes leftovers or absolutely no leftovers?!?

❤ God Bless

Leave a Reply

