Overnight Steel Cut Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats

Good Morning and Happy Thursday! (So I know it’s Saturday, but I forgot to publish this post!)

I had the day off yesterday, which was wonderful, but I was SO busy and it was SO cold! Nate worked a half-day because we wanted to get out and test drive a couple vehicles that we saw online. Oh the joys of shopping for a VERY used car…at least I am familiar with the lingo and know what to expect, as well as have access to Carfax’s, etc..

JX9lWMWJTmCfusPMd_v_eLfpVKlZXJ0LSwiiskfa8Bc

When we got home, there was quite a few inches of snow already on the ground. Nate had snow-blowed our driveway the other day, but got a rock stuck in the blade, so he spent a little while outside drilling the rock into smaller pieces.

JX9lWMWJTmCfusPMd_v_eLfpVKlZXJ0LSwiiskfa8Bc

In the meantime, I took Telli for a nice walk. She loves the snow! I always put her on an extended cable leash so she has more room to run, jump and play in the snow. It’s so fun to watch her! She reminds me of me when I was little. I grew up in Wisconsin, so we always had a lot of snow. I remember whenever I walked home from school, I never walked on the sidewalks. I would climb to the top of the street snowbank, walk across it then slide down at the driveways. It was so fun! Telli does the exact same thing!

Enjoy the pictures of Telli playing in the snow!

D5g3RzCfManKZ5qWnH6J4vgiaFNkN6eloOV49jKuXgA          xPq5mVR2RDggwTWePjJY69MYAhkElAyJx7BjT7juBDQ            3iHA5n8pi39gyzoAeQ9F_z7Gs8bdn6NqMadAL37RZk0 YlZE9oSi1SZBYej4WTnq0rO7UdJuEfgY76ta63saQkM                         A1qIq8HxNLibgKYtJCQg5zf5GE2ECEm2xIi20Ndy8Nk

For breakfast this morning I had made Overnight Steel Cut Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats! Say that 5x fast. We woke up to the smell of apple cinnamon and they were delicious! I had never ate steel cut oats before, and they are so good! They have  a more nutty natural flavor than regular oats, but they take longer to prepare. So it was perfect to throw ’em in the crockpot so I didn’t have to wake up early! They were ready in the morning with fresh coffee!

SyBnA4e2YrfM2KcFC_KnCCCCCnBG_a0cRs-f6x7_Zm8

Here is the recipe I used–and highly recommend

2 medium sized apples, peeled and chopped

1 C steel cut oats

3 T brown sugar

1/2 t cinnamon

1 T flax seed (optional but fabulous!)

1/4 t salt (as I type this recipe, I don’t think I added the salt…)

1 t vanilla

1 1/2 C milk

1 1/2 C water

Toppings: you can use bananas, almonds, walnuts, pecans, maple syrup, honey…..

I used banana, almonds and almond butter–and boy it was good!

Directions:

1. Spray the inside of our crock pot with cooking spray (I don’t think I put enough spray, or maybe just the nature of the oats, made them stick pretty bad..). You will need a crock pot that is at least 3 1/2 quarts in size. 2. Place all ingredients (except the toppings) into the crock pot. Give it  a nice stir, and cook on low for 7 hours.

See you all soon on another update! 🙂

One response

  1. These look yummy! I always use crock pot liners whenever I cook something in my crockpot. (you can find them by the ziploc bags) It makes clean up soooo easy!! Just line the crock pot, cook your stuff, then throw the bag away. No need for scrubbing! They are a lifesaver.

Leave a Reply

