Happy Birthday Telli!!!!

That’s right, yesterday was Telli’s 1st birthday! I can’t believe how much she has grown, how much she has learned, and how much she is still a little stinker! For instance last night she thought it would be fun to wake me up at 2:30, 5:30 and 6:30 to go to the bathroom….really Telli? It’s Saturday morning and you are one!

I still remember taking her home from the breeder’s last year, and she was so little. She stayed nice and close to me as I sat in the back seat. As soon as we left the farm she started to cry so hard and it made me want to cry..it was so sad taking her away from her family, but we knew she would get lots of love from us! She warmed up to us pretty quickly and started to give us kisses right away! She is a bundle of joy, a great hiking partner, a good couch snuggler and the social chair of the welcoming party at the dog park!

ytyhbxhOdRoYcUkEXcluR2FtihJMpnfolArntZHZx3w            _1GTnzsbc04OOCJbSEvmMpUYiRsI954r90LXgwWxcTY

We wanted to make sure her birthday was extra special! Thursday night I looked up a recipe to make pupcakes! I think she knew they were for her, because she stayed by my side in the kitchen the entire time! I’m sure it didn’t help that I made them with a lot of peanut butter and carrots! (Those are her favorite!)

DSC00073 DSC00065

Look at her wait so patiently……and those eyes, they get me every time! I had to give her a little taste of the mixture before adding the egg….

DSC00066

Look at how cute the pupcake turned out! I was so happy I could find a recipe that was puppy approved! (by the way, the frosting is me approved!!!—It was so good, and I will be making it for myself in the future!) See the recipe at the bottom of the post.

DSC00101

We sang her happy birthday and tried to put on a party hat, but she took it off right away….After licking the frosting she got right into the cupcake and enjoyed it down to the very last crumb!

DSC00078 DSC00094

Happy birthday Telli girl! We love you and you bring a special ray of sunshine to our life!

EYUJXBp2FUUAbfEsTAxgV-b6zP9ajF-iDzBXw0w-X-Q

Pupcake recipe:

Prep time: 10 minutes         Cook time: 15 minutes

Makes 5 regular cupcakes or 12 mini cupcakes

Ingredients:

-1 egg

-2T peanut butter

-2T cooking oil

-1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

-1T honey

-1/2 cup shredded carrots

-1/2 cup whole wheat or white flour

-1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Instructions:

1. Line cupcake pan with liners. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. In a medium bowl, combine egg, peanut butter, oil, vanilla, honey, and shredded carrots together. Add flour and baking soda to wet ingredients. Mix until just combined. Place a heaping tablespoon in each liner.

3. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove from pan and place on a wire rack. Be sure the pupcakes are cooled completely before frosting.

Frosting:

I mixed plain vanilla yogurt with peanut and added some honey. I eye-balled the portions, if I had to guess 1/2 cup of peanut butter to 1/4 cup of yogurt with 1 T of honey. I ate a lot of my initial batch because it tasted so good, so I had to make some more!

Since I prepared everything on Thursday and didn’t put it all together until Friday, I put the frosting in the refrigerator! I think this helped to solidify it more and make it look more like frosting!

I spread the frosting on the pupcake with my finger (any leftovers, I got to eat!) and topped with shredded carrots and a dog treat!

Let your pup enjoy!

Do you celebrate your pets birthday? My dad said we went overboard…but I sure enjoyed it!

3 responses

  1. Of course we celebrate Gus’ birthday….pets are a part of the family and yes we go overboard also, so nevermind what your dad says…..

  2. I saw your dad’s comment on facebook and it made me laugh. We do the same thing for our Kelty boy! He gets pupcakes every year on his birthday. And he does the same thing as Telli, he stays right by the oven the whole time. 🙂

    The recipe you used is pretty similar to the one I use, but I’ve never tried the frosting. Will have to use that next time!

    Happy Birthday Telli!!!

Leave a Reply

