Catching the wave….

Good morning!! It’s the weekend (well maybe for you, not for me- I have to go to work..boooo) I hope wherever you are you have stayed warm and safe this past week as storms whipped across the US. My parents house actually had a large branch (from my favorite birch tree) fall on the house. Thankfully, it didn’t do any damage except to the gutter (at least from what they can tell for now). But that storm was wicked! We just had below zero temperatures!

Nate left to go skiing early so it’s just Telli and I in the house. We’re enjoying Dave Barnes on Pandora (highly recommend the Pandora Station!), the sunrise out the window and a hot cup of coffee. I love mornings when I can relax and be prayerful and thankful over the past week. Oh, and a delicious breakfast of waffles with almond butter and blueberries!!

ErNFvBj1xQlep3nBGy4iT_JG1zlYTPWhALV69Cw-ATk      1SHYzTMg3wfxF1Ro03qIBiZeffviJ0VFYm8EviQUJEo

Catch the wave

Well Nate and I have had a lot on our mind  (my career, finances, future family, etc…) recently and have been diligent in our prayer trying to find the best guidance from our Lord. I love how many messages at church and songs on the radio play at the perfect time to bring me peace when I feel  anxious, excited and uncertain. Recently, our pastor spoke a message titled “Catch the wave.” He presented it a couple weeks ago, but I will typically replay messages during my commute to work, and my small group discusses the messages a couple weeks after the message was spoke–so we discussed it this week. Needless to say, I think it was a message that definitely spoke and continues to speak to me. I wanted to share bits and pieces of it while it applies to my life, but if you like what I say, I highly recommend you listen to my entire inspiration on this post— Eric Parks, you can see it here.

Have you ever boogie-boarded? Our family took vacations down to the Florida beaches quite a few times when I was a child, and I loved boogie boarding and body surfing! There is this thrill I remember…standing in the ocean looking for the perfect wave to come in so I could catch it! There is that split-second decision to go for it-to ride the wave. If I decided that it wasn’t the perfect wave, there were always more waves coming. Sometimes I took a wave and it twisted me and rolled me….and I crashed. While other times I caught the wave and rode it all the way in..past all the water and up on the beach with a big ol’ smile on my face! When I jumped in and caught the perfect wave- it was wonderful! The awesome thing is, once I decided to catch the wave-the power of the wave took me, I couldn’t control anything…sometimes it twisted me and turned me…and sometimes it just sent me right into shore–but all the work is in the power of the wave!

In 2 Corinthians 12:9 it says: My grace is all you need, my power works best in your weakness

Maybe what Jesus is talking about–is we all need to surrender to the power of the wave.  Catching a wave with a boogie board or body surfing is like living by grace-taking the leap and stepping into the flow of God and his plans for me! When I surrender myself to the power of the wave it takes me where God intends me to go and it is always a wonderful ride! But I definitely have my days, situations, periods of life where I prefer to say “no thanks” to the waves God sends me thinking I can do it on my own or doing it societies way is better-because “times” have changed. Do you ever do that? When I don’t jump into the wave, when I just stand in the middle of the ocean, it’s not as fun, I make more mistakes, I don’t feel as full of life….It’s not as fun as it is to dive into the wave and let it take you where it intends to lead you.

God is constantly sending waves towards me. My biggest fear is that I will not surrender to his waves or that I will not see his waves coming in my daily life.

My small group brought me comfort in knowing that this message was all about his grace. God is the wave maker, and the waves (grace) he sends are constant. First we need to see the wave coming (my doubtful self said: well what if I don’t see the wave coming and I miss the opportunity. They said: be thankful God will continue to send waves until I do see it, and if he can’t make it clear enough he will paint the wave orange so I can’t miss it-because when I surrender myself to our Lord he will put me on the right path).

If I don’t surrender to the wave, if I just stand there and don’t attempt to catch the wave I will never see transformation and I won’t even take a step on the great path that God has in my plan.

The cool thing is if I decide not to take a wave God has sent to me, or if he sent me the perfect wave and I took it, but made mistakes I don’t need to convince God to send another wave I just have to turn around and look for the next wave that’s coming my way. The waves are never ending, God keeps sending the waves and that is grace. And that is what brings me peace. The great thing is I may miss the wave today, not see it coming tomorrow, but God will put me where I need to be.

Jeremiah 29:11- For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

When I look at my career, finances and future family I must remain hopeful and thankful. Hopeful for what lies ahead and thankful for the waves I may have missed but knowing God will send more for me to catch!

Thank you God for having such Amazing Grace on all of us. I pray that you give me the ability to see the waves you continue to send my way, I pray for strength and faith to surrender to the waves you send, and I pray for the courage to not give up when I know I make a mistake.

❤ God Bless

Leave a Reply

