It is what it is Wednesday!

Wow! What a day..and great day at that! I know it doesn’t make sense with the title, but I had an idea that I will get to at the bulk of my post. But as a quick recap of the day…..

I had the day off! I was so excited because I had a doctor’s appointment in Denver that is close to one of my favorite parks, Washington Park! It is such a great park to enjoy when it is beautiful outside. In the summer on any given day there will be many groups of people with kickball, volleyball, softball, etc. going on. I was very surprised with how many people were there at 11 am this morning! I mean really? What do you do for work that you are there running/biking/rollerblading/walking/sitting in the park! There were SO many people! I even took Telli down for a road tip to the park. I knew she would love it, but she loved it more than I was expecting!! She had so much fun but was not on her best behavior. There were too many new smells, dogs, strollers, ducks, geese and people compared to what we are used to at the parks near our house. Her training went out the window and she tried pulling me everywhere! So my much anticipated run turned more into a walk/stand to make her stop pulling and wait until I told her we could continue. I laughed because I was able to use my new app that I spoke about in an earlier post. Map My Fitness! The only thing with today, it told me my pace was an 18.55 minute mile…..no bueno Telli, too much stopping for you!

B2ybXTqTIMopGTjKxNQo94oL0rKGo3NHfq0PviIXpc8,WA1FrPB6RrdNkOq30Zr20ahGrpPP00p63OnreAKWLSM NiWG9O-9hEqOF10Mp-0LzMlr4PWFPhnnUaxADYEVjfc SvE55XnYbaf1v1Q6gR36wooe_9XT_WrqGgDlMx4MVtc,5kHv6r8sKzX_M9WgI-IIGg0oqS2qoe6NhTL1H7ZJ49I

She did have fun and was worn out the rest of the afternoon.

While I was sick I was watching some Pioneer Woman episodes. On one episode that Nate was around for, she made chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches!!! Nate loves chocolate chip cookies! I wanted to thank him for taking SUCH GREAT CARE OF ME while I was sick and so today I made him the ice cream cookie sandwiches! They turned out really good!

b3xhf-E-PMlhtL9Ps9uM9RkXfRYkQND9mpf8ZiRY5io

Here is a picture….but as you can see, I started eating it before I remembered to take the picture…..Mmmmm…..mmmm it was good!

And for dinner I made the it’s so simple to make and delicious to eat—Noodles with tomatoes, onions and pesto! It’s SOOO good, and SOOOO easy!

9N5SIAtSTXRkj2vqyfn6nTWhaOFnQjK9yIdym9kNvV4

 

 

And now for the heart of this post:

Nate and I are in a small group with young couples from our church. We love it and it gives us the opportunity to be vulnerable and real with people. There are couples at all different stages of life (kids, no kids, pets, careers, health problems) so it’s a great way to get to know people and have great, well-rounded discussions. I named this post “It is what it is Wednesday” because I am making a commitment to every Wednesday be REAL with my readers. Not that I am ever not real but it’s easy to only post the good things that happened that day or week, or to only post the good pictures. But this is my commitment to show you the messy days, the imperfect days, the imperfections of me….

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” –Marianne Williamson

In our small group discussion tonight we talked about how dissatisfied people are with their own lives not because of who they are, but because of who everybody else is. We live in a society of social media and perfect pictures and perfect posts on Instagram and Facebook. We see others as they are on the outside–the package their wrapped in. But we never truly see their gift that God gave them; that is what we need to look at, their inner-being. But because we only look at their outside (the Facebook posts and Instagram pictures) their life will seem to be so much better than our own. They seem to be doing more with their life, we want to be like them but don’t know how and why we need to be…but now we feel dissatisfied with our own life. As a society we only post the things that we want others to see and not our imperfections. We don’t want people to see the broken hearts and the voids in our soul. If I want you to read about me and get to know me, I want you to know of my imperfections too….because there are A LOT! So from now on it will be called; IT IS WHAT IT IS WEDNESDAY.

God Bless

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Coconut Milk. | sunshine and shoes

Leave a Reply

